Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


OK, I’ve had enough of the snow, but an icy driveway too?  Now I’ll never leave my mountain!
It will be Spring until it thaws!
 
Since I can’t take a road trip anywhere, and I’m in serious need of a change of scenery, I thought I’d go traveling via the photos I took of my trips last year. 
I was in France twice, New York city twice, and Tampa FL once.  So the pics of the beautiful sand and sun did wonders for my sanity.
 
Let’s begin the tour shall we?
 
This was taken at the Musée d’Orsay in Paris.  I fell in love with it because of the details on the dress and her fan.  The pleated ruffles reminded of something I would put on a couture drapery.
 
 

impressionist art at the Musee d'Orsay

 
 
 Another master painting from the Musée d’Orsay.
  
 Oh to be  in a park celebrating and dancing in Paris.  I can just picture myself in this painting.  I hear the music, the laughter, the whispers…what do you think they are talking about?
 
 

a work of art at Musee d'Orsay

 
 
 Now I’m shopping at the Galeries Lafayette, one of my favorite stores in Paris.  These are photos taken from the rooftop after a group of us gals had lunch.  It was a chilly January day, but the sunshine was warming.
 
 I love the shape of this building and how it fit the triangle area of the streets around it.
 

looking left off the rooftop of Galeries Lafayette

 
 
 The beautiful Opera Garnier.
I would love to go to an opera about now.  I’m thinking Madame Butterfly, because the music is so captivating, it takes me away and tugs at my emotions.
 
 I can hear it now if I try real hard.  Actually, I don’t have to try at all, it comes to me immediately, as I remember listening to the Saturday Afternoon at the Met Operas on my local public radio station.
 

Opera Garnier from the rooftop of Galeries Lafayette

 
 
 Standing facing the back, I discovered the Sacre Coeur in the far distance so I zoomed in on it.  Notice the cloud hovering over it, yet the city below is still in the sun’s rays.
 
 
view of the Sacre Coeur de Montmartre from the rooftop of Galeries Lafayette
 
 Ah yes, what trip would be complete without getting a shot of the famed La Tour Eiffel?  This is my take on it.  It’s way over in the 7th arrondissement so you can get a good idea of how far away we are on the Right Bank.
  
 

looking toward the Eiffel Tower from the rooftop of Galeries Lafayette

 
 
 As we made our way down the floors of the store, we got a glorious view of the inside of the ceiling.  Isn’t it gorgeous? 
 
 

the ceiling inside Galeries Lafayette

 
 This view is looking down to the main floor below exposing the levels of shopping that can be done.  One whole floor was just shoes!  Yes, just shoes and I was so proud of myself because I walked out of there with none at all!  The real reason:  I didn’t want to carry more than I needed because this was the first stop of the day and my feet were the mode of transportation!
 
  

inside Galeries Lafayette

 
 After leaving Galeries Lafayette, we happened upon this little gem of a store.  Edibles of all kinds, cookies, candy, chocolates…with a storefront facade like this, you know what was inside had to be good.
And it was……mmmmmm, those raspberry cookies make me want to go back for more as I stare at my empty tin.
  

La Cure Gourmande in Paris

 
 Now we’re at the Musée des Arts Decoratif.  It was here that we went to the Madeleine Vionnet exhibit, a famed couturière of her day.  Afterward we walked around the museum and when I saw these huge candlesticks, I was wishing I had a ballroom to put them in!
 
 The scale of the room that these belonged to reminded me of something that would’ve been at the Palace Versailles.
 

pair of huge gilded candlesticks at Musee des Arts Decoratif

 
 
Mirror mirror on the wall, who’s in need of sunshine most of all? 
 
 If you answered me, you would be correct!
 
 

gilded mirror at the Musee des Arts Decoratif

 
 
Now we’re in Brittany, France on the west coast at the Atlantic Ocean.  This area is known as the Dunes and in summertime gets very crowded but as you can see, I had the whole place to myself that day!  Too bad it was a little breezy and cold though.  I wouldn’t mind coming back here in the summer or September and renting the house that we did. 
 
 

Les Dunes de St Marguerite, France

 
 
I love this shot of the houses in Brittany by this inlet.  The tide was high in this photo but when it was low, there was no water to be seen. 
 
 

view of houses at inlet at L'Aber W'rach

 
 
Now I’m in NYC and couldn’t believe my eyes when I saw this Mokuba store.  I had blogged about Mokuba in Paris here last January so to see this was a WOW moment for me.  Mokuba is known for all their different ribbons.   Check out my post here to see examples of what they carry.
 
But if you look real close at the picture, you will see that this store was for rent and was empty!  Oh no!  I never got the story on it so I hope they were just moving elsewhere in the city. 
 
 

Mokuba ribbon storefront in NYC that was empty and avail for lease

 

 Back in France again, this was a bar where we came to for aperitifs with friends and family.  This was where we sat and I just love this purple lamp!  It is dark in this picture, but looking out this window across the street was the water.  We are at the port on the main street and a few buildings down was where I would go to blog and check my email and of course, to have a café crème, my favorite!    
 
 
 

cool purple lamp at the bar where we had our aperitif with friends in L'Aber W'rach

 
I couldn’t resist taking this picture at the restaurant.  The smaller tables had these pullout shelves for the bread basket and LOOK at this bread!
Notice the sleek brown leather Italian chairs at the next table.  They were very comfortable to sit in and I had the most delicious scallops with a mushroom sauce gratin. 
 
 

pullout tray at table holding some excellent French Bread at the restaurant at L'Aber W'rach

 
Now we are in Tarpon Springs, Florida at the Sponge Docks.  After eating lunch at a Greek restaurant, we walked a couple blocks to this Greek bakery.  I had the most delicious lemon dessert. 
 
 

Greek Bakery in Tarpon Springs, FL

 
 
 Me and hubby at the dock.  See the bird sitting on the wood pier in front of us?  He was an excellent model and really knew how to work the camera! 
 
 

at the Sponge Docks in Tarpon Springs, FL

 
 I can’t remember the name  of where we were, but my cousin took us here after the docks.  It was only about 15 minutes away and was absolutely peaceful. 
 
 

Tampa, FL

  
 
Back in NYC for the day.  My first time to ever see the Statue of Liberty.  We decided that since it was such a cold day, we are going back when it’s warmer and I can get tickets to go all the way up in the crown. 
 Then I won’t be wearing goosebumps as an accessory! 
 
  
Statue of Liberty on a cold November day

I’m feeling better already!  What was your favorite part of the trip?

