Tags

, , , , , , , ,


INSPIRATION:  SALVADOR DALÍ

 

You might remember this job I posted about last year in which my client moved into a historic building.  These are the finished window treatments I did.  Take a good look at the print hanging next to them. 

 It is a real Dalí

Having been to the Philadelphia Museum of Art when the Dalí exhibition was there years ago, I had a keen appreciation of this piece.

This is my client’s kitchen in the new house in the city.  No longer at the condo in the historic building, we had to modify all the treatments I did.  Because the old kitchen had an arched cornice, we had to scrap it and start over.  We tied the same fabrics from the Dining Room and Living Room panels into this gem and added a touch of green to coordinate with the gorgeous lighting above the island.

This is standing on the other side of the island looking through the Living Room into the Dining Room.   Recognize the drapery panels at the farrrrrr end of the room?  I will be blogging about the redo of these in a future post.

And there my client is, standing casually with a glass of wine in hand.  Usually that’s what we do.  I install over a glass of wine while she watches and we catch up and discuss future projects.  She’s an artist too, but with hair.  She owns the American Male Salon in town.

 

Now for the nuts and bolts of how I made this simple looking yet elegant treatment.  It consists of a cornice with a bias pettiskirt hanging from knobs.   A masculine/feminine approach since both homeowners cook in this kitchen.  The client wanted something scalloped and curvy and I wanted something to visually join the cabinets together instead of just treating the window area only which would break up the visual line.  I also wanted to incorporate the stainless steel knobs from the cabinetry.  We have curves in the island and the lighting shades, and we definitely have linear with the cabinetry.  The best of both worlds!

 

The top section is a cornice that has cut outs to allow for the trim around the cabinetry.  In this photo, I’ve already cut out my material, which instead of using MDF or plywood, I now use a product called Firma Flex®.  It is lightweight, doesn’t warp and cuts easily with a rotary cutter and jigsaw. 

I have made my marks where I want my knobs to be so now I am drilling the hole for the screw.  Note that I cut out the cornice padding where my hole is to be so that when I drilled through, I wasn’t creating a fiasco with padding wrapping around the drill bit!  EEEKK!!!!

 

 

This is a side shot of the knob in place.  Nice swags in the background too huh?

 

I chose to cover the cornice first with lining as the fabric I was using is very lightweight.  This gives it a much smoother look too.

 

 

The cornice with the fabric stapled onto it.  When I got to the cutout section, you’ll note that I snipped into the corner to allow the fabric to wrap around nicer.  Don’t worry about this because the welt and facing will cover this in the end.

 

 

Now I’m stapling the tacking strip down on top of the welt and facing to give it a nice sharp edge when turned over.  For this size cornice, I opted to use a 3/8″ welt.

 

This is the backside of the cornice.  I always want my backside (hee hee) to look as good as the fronts because when you’re outside looking in, I want it to be just as neat and pretty. 

In this particular shot, I have a pin placed where my holes for the screws are located so I can make my cutout of the fabric before inserting screw.

 

This is the front of the cornice where the screw is located for the knob.  All I need to do is put the knobs on and I’m done with this section.

 

pettiskirt how to

 

This is really very easy to make!  You  take your fabric and fold it in half lengthwise and fold in half again widthwise.  You will now have one side that has one fold and the other has 2 folds like the picture.  Lay them square on table for the next step.

 

 

I have this pattern piece from Joan Willis’ Patterns Plus but I forget what it was originally intended for since I use it and adapt it for so many other things:  this pettiskirt being one of them! 

In this photo, I have moved the pattern down and in 1/2″ because I needed the top of the skirt to be a certain length.  I got this measurement by using a bead chain weight and draped it over the knobs.  I am able to determine the droop this way and then added 1″ to this length.  That is how I came up with my measurement.  HOWEVER:  your pattern is in fourths because you have folded it and folded it again, so this curve will be one fourth of the finished length.

I cut out the top and am now making my  mark for the finished length of the skirt.  I put a pin in the corner and determined that my cut length needed to be 8″ so simply taking your marker and going from one fold line to the other will give you a perfect circular cut length!  EASY! 

This is also done for table rounds too!

 

When you unfold the cut piece, this is what it looks like.  A complete circle.  NOW, it is very important that you make your cut on the grain, not on the bias, so it doesn’t stretch. 

This pic is of the skirt on top of the lining with the cut directly straight ahead vertically.

These are the two different sizes of cording I used on the skirt.  The top one is 1/4″ and I used this for the top of the skirt and the bottom is a microcord which I placed on the bottom of the skirt. 

This allowed for the bottom flounce to be flexible and flowy, easier to dress.  Had I used the 1/4″ on the bottom as well, it wouldn’t have been as flexible.  Now, I have done them that way before, but the fabric was a lot heavier and the treatment a lot longer and wider. 

Once you have sewn your welt cordings to the top and bottom edges, sew the lining as well and leave a section on the sides to turn inside out.  Once that is done, you must press out both sides to give it a nice crisp look.  I use my pressing ham for curves so it doesn’t stretch them out.  If you tried to press this on the flat table, you would definitely stretch out the edges and although I love a nice ‘lettuce edge’, that is not the look for this style.

A closeup of the finished valance hanging from the knob.  I used a tiny brass ring that has a hook attached to it so that I hooked it onto the valance.  Then I  simply unscrewed the knob, placed the ring on the screw and put the knob back on!  EASY!

 

 

Have fun with this one!  There are so many variations but I like these when the client wants something more than simple, yet COUTURE!

