Tags

, ,


 

As you all know from my latest blog post a couple days ago, I was majorly whining about a particular project in which I was to take this picture of a Country Curtains valance and turn it into a custom valance for a client.  See the post below for the inside scoop.

 

This is the blank canvas.

 

 

This is the precarious way I had to set my ladder up in the Jacuzzi in order to install the brackets on the left side.  You see, I am only 5′ 2″ so there was no way even on my tippie toes I was going to be able to put a bracket 5 1/2″ below the ceiling line.  I forgot about this minor detail when loading up the van today so fortunately, between me and my client, this is what we rigged up.

DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME KIDS, LEAVE IT FOR THE PROFESSIONALS!

Notice the box turned on its side with a 2″ x 4″ for support in the tub, then another block of wood for the right ladder leg so that at least the back legs were supported equally.  It also helps that I only weigh in at about 115 lbs so not much weight was being placed on the box in the tub!  Yikes!

 

 

The finished valance.

 

A closeup of the valance.

 

 

For this particular application, it works, but I’m still not a fan of rod pockets.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. 

The one caveat I kept telling myself as I was contorting myself in twisted positions on the ladder installing and dressing down, was that fortunately any muscle I might be pulling would be gently worked out on Thursday’s massage 🙂 

 

