Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


 

My Fascination with Fascinators
 

 I was working on one of my displays for the Vision 10 in Atlanta and needed something to go on the top of the dress form to camouflage the knob at the neck.  Luciana Cazares had just posted that morning about the fascinators she was selling on her Etsy store.  Having no idea what a fascinator was, my curiosity got the best of me and so I clicked on her Etsy store.  WOW is all I can say!  I was totally blown away by the gorgeous designs and such creativity. 

 

 I scrolled down the page and there it was!  The leopard fascinator with a gorgeous turquoise brooch in the center and ostrich feathers!!!!!

 

I knew it would be perfect for “Sassy”, my dress form turned display for my La Finials that I was debuting at the show.  Sassy had on a pleather halter dress that laced up the front and I put maribou feathers all around her neckline to make her a little more modest and artfully draped a Michael Miller Eiffel Tower fabric over her bare shoulders and back.  I then inserted into the eyelets, samples of La Finial. 

 

OOH LA LA, N’EST-CE PAS?

 
 
 

 

Here is a closeup of the beautiful fascinator.

 

 A funny story about how the fascinator was packaged!  She was placed in this gorgeous organza bag and a white box.  Presentation:  A+    However, I had Chinese food delivered the night before and because I was working crazy hours, had left the boxes on the Dining Room table.  Clean Freak that my dear hubby is, as he was cleaning the table,  he almost threw my fascinator away too because it was the same white box (in my husband’s eyes) as the Chinese food!  When he told me this over coffee the next morning I shrieked!  I told him how close he came to being hurt if he actually would’ve thrown it away!

 

 Here are two  examples of the type of fascinators that Luciana makes.  Aren’t they just gorgeous?  Credit for these photos must be given to Omar Mena of Mena Video Photography.  His work is equally as gorgeous too.

 

 

 

So you’re probably still asking just what a fascinator is: 

Well, direct and quoted from Wikipedia,

A fascinator is a headpiece, a style of millinery.  The word originally referred to a fine, lacy head covering akin to a shawl and made from wool or lace.

In the 21st century, the term has made a comeback, but the meaning has slightly changed; it is now used to describe a delicate, slightly-to-very frivolous head decoration worn almost exclusively by women.

Modern fascinators are commonly made with feathers, flowers and/or beads.  They attach to the hair by a comb, headband or a clip.

 

Ladies, doesn’t it make you want to go out and get one and wear it for a girl’s night out occasion?  How fun for a tea party too? 

And the best part for ME?  It’s made with tulle, my favorite fabric! 

 

 

