Tags

, , , , , , ,


Trendspot Vignette, Elite ConsumerHaving posted about one of my experiences at the IWCE with Jaclyn Smith, I will now share another Vignette I designed and fabricated. 

I like to work at the Trendspot area of the show floor because I like to be on top of what is new and exciting, whether it be new fabric lines,  hardware or what is coming off the runways and incorporating all those elements into a window treatment.

This year my theme was the Elite Consumer and how to design for the sexes.  That is why you see two totally different panels here.  My inspiration was a wallpaper from York Wallpaper.  It is an eco conscious wallpaper and the pattern is graphic and the color is fantastic, great for a man or a woman who has finally achieved some of their career goals in life.

HIS  panel is a grommet header panel with a contrast band at the top and a contrast band at the bottom with a detachable band that was pleated in 3 sections, folded and held in place with covered buttons.  The fabric I chose is  from Maxwell Fabrics and  the panel is lightly interlined and then lined with a bamboo/cotton organic lining, giving it a soft hand.

HER panel is a beautiful flat panel in a rhinestone studded silk with a contrast double ruched band on the header, leading and bottom edges.  These  fabrics  are from JF Fabrics as well as  the pleated sheers behind the panels.  This panel is interlined with English bump and lined with the contrast fabric I used for the ruched banding.

I chose to showcase the new hardware line from Helser Brothers, the Artefice Collection, because it is clean looking, graphic with the square finials, rods and brackets and those rings are really neat that held the sheers. 

